How I doubled the number of books I read…

I love reading books. But, with a family and a job and responsibilities at the church, I found myself having less and less time to read every day. And my backlog of “To Read” books just keeps growing larger and larger. So, I found a solution.. audio books.

A couple of years ago I got into the habit of listening to podcasts on my drive to and from work. I have since discovered that podcasts are only an entry drug 🙂 One of my favorite podcats, This Week in Tech, started advertising Audible.com. I figured I would give it a try. And I loved it! I spend an hour in the car each day, going to and from work, so that’s an additional 5 hours of reading every week.

The only problem was that books on Audible are inexpensive for audio books, but they still end up costing more than I like to pay. That’s when I realized that my local library has audio books on CD. And their selection is huge. So, all I do is go to Amazon to research the books I’d like to read and check out the reviews, then I go to TulsaLibrary.org to reserve the books. The library emails me when they come in and I drop by the desk and pick them up. Most audio books that I have tried so far are between 7 and 10 hours, so I have been able to listen to them in the first 2 weeks that the library lets me keep them.

As easy as that, and I’m “reading” 26 more books every year and chipping away at my huge “To Read” list.

2 thoughts on “How I doubled the number of books I read…

  1. I looked into that a while ago, but they didn’t have mp3 versions of any of the books I was interested in. I need to check it out again — that would sure be a great service!

Leave a Reply

