Boardgame addict

My newest hobby has been boardgaming, mainly Euro games. My wife and I have always loved playing board and card games, but being introduced to these by some friends at work has opened up a whole new world to me. Some of my favorites so far are Ticket to Ride, Blue Moon City, Bang!, Citadels, RoboRally, Tikal, and Loot. I’m working on a couple of reviews of these games that should be online shortly.

I’ve recently being doing research on a couple more games to buy. This is the criteria I have been using to decide: 1) Since I mainly play with my wife, it needs to be possible for 2 players to play, 2) I often play in groups of 4 or more, so it is desireable for it to be playable with more players, 3) It needs to be fairly simple to learn, 4) needs to be playable in 90 minutes or less, 5) and it needs to have a 7+ BoardGameGeek.com rating.

My favorite place for reviews has been The Dice Tower and Tom Vasel. Tom is a missionary to South Korea and a game enthusiast. The game reviews he posts on his site and BoardGameGeek.com are very helpful. The Dice Tower podcast recently did an introductory episode in which they had 6 people give their top 10 games that people getting into games should buy. The most popular ones among all the lists seems to be Ticket To Ride, Settlers of Catan, Bang!, Carcassonne, and Lost Cities.

I already own Ticket to Ride and Bang! and they are great. The one downside to Bang! is that it cannot be played with 2 players. Settlers of Catan is also not a 2 player game so I ruled that out. That left Carcassonne and Lost Cities.

Carcassonne is a very highly rated tile laying game. I have played 2 other tile laying games (Tikal and Tongiaki) and they were very enjoyable. Carcassonne also has several expansion packs which should make it more enjoyable once we get use to the base game. Lost Cities is a two player card game by Knizia which I have heard several people say is their favorite two player game.

So, long story short, I have just placed a ThoughtHammer.com order for those two games. I’m guessing they should be here by the weekend and I can’t wait to give them a shot! I’ll be sure to post my thoughts….

Leave a Reply

